Duct Tape Wallets

Duct tape wallets is a great teen activity. There are many different designs out there, but whatever type of wallet you choose, the teens will need help. Duct tape is sticky, and it takes some finesse to get it to stick to itself in just the right way. However, you will probably find that one or two of your teens are already very skilled at making wallets, and they can help others. There are a few things I plan on doing differently next time I make wallets. I will research (a lot more) and find the easiest design before I make my sample. This time around, I picked a pretty complex design for the sample, so everyone wanted to make that wallet. It was a little rough. Another challenge can be that people sort of trickle in, so they are all at different stages of the process. I will try to start everyone off at the same time and complete each step as a group.  Also, make sure you allow extra time for this project. We had some people working on their wallets for almost two hours (this may have been due to design complexity). Despite the challenges, the teens were really excited about the wallets they made. Also, usually I give my sample projects away, but this time I didn’t even have to ask… The wallet just mysteriously disappeared. Here are the videos I watched:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05uSKHyHKz8 (complex)

http://frugalfun4boys.com/2013/05/20/how-to-make-a-duct-tape-wallet/ (easy)

http://www.sophie-world.com/crafts/duct-tape-coin-purse (coin purse)

Leave a Reply

