Rock Tic-Tac-Toe

The materials for Rock Tic-Tac-Toe were pretty cheap because I had some the extra cedar fence scraps and the rocks were left over from another activity. In addition, we had acrylic paint and Mod Podge (to provide a protective coating) ready to be used.

The prep work for this program took a while, but it was worth it. I cut my wood into squares (a hardware store can do this for you if it isn’t something you feel comfortable doing). I also used a palm sander to take down the corners and rough spots. Depending upon the look you are going for and the type of wood you use, you may not need to sand very much at all. I coated the wood with Kilz, which prevents the acrylic paint from sinking into the wood. I measured the spaces for the grid, and sketched it out lightly with pencil. I sorted the rocks by size and texture, and then we washed them because they were dirty.

I made my example like one I saw online because it was so cute. Aphids are the real enemies of ladybugs, but bees are so much more fun to paint!

The teens had a great time!

Leave a Reply

